Back On Track

Today I did something I haven’t done in nearly three months.

This morning my alarm went off at 5:30 am, I rolled myself out of bed and I went for a run. That’s correct, I woke up early to exercise.

I couldn’t believe it had been so long since I made my last early morning trek around the neighbourhood, but according to my run-tracker it’s the truth. It felt good to get out there again and get my juices going. I reminded myself why I enjoy it. Despite losing an hour of sleep and forcing my body to do something it seemingly is not manufactured for, I missed it.

The truth is I’ve never been much of a runner, in fact I still wouldn’t consider myself a “runner”. I have played basketball for most of my life and can make my way up and down the court, but until a couple of years ago would have never considered “going for a run” as a fun activity. But here I am, writing about how much I enjoy it.

Upon reflection, it’s no surprise why I get so much satisfaction from my morning jaunts.

Reason #1: My neighbourhood is very quiet pre-six am with very little local traffic. In fact, this morning I saw more bunnies than people.

Reason #2: I make sure I have an updated playlist on my iPod. I need some good tunes to keep me going.

Reason #3: It makes me feel better.

It’s no secret that exercise increases blood flow and benefits the body in a number of ways, but for me it’s more than that. I like jogging to my music and listening to the lyrics I may have previously been too busy to hear. I like having the time to think about whatever pops into my head. I like pushing myself to increase my pace and decrease my time. And it’s important for me that I have some “me time”. It seems obvious then that on days I run I’m in a different groove; my attitude is better, I’m more focused and I get better results.

So, it’s back to the track (well, sidewalk) for me.

Of course until the snow comes…I’m not nearly crazy enough for an early morning, snow-filled winter run.

But enough about me.

What do you like to do for “your time”?

What gets you in your groove?

When’s the best time for you to get focused?

Comments welcome below. And thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Back On Track

  1. Good for you! I am hoping to dedicate myself to exercise each and every morning. Quite the commitment! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today. I appreciate the support 🙂

Leave a Reply

