Who Are You Pissing Off?

I think it’s fairly safe to assume that the large majority of us have seen an image of Calvin peeing on (insert company logo here). Look familiar?

On our recent holiday my in-laws and I drove from Edmonton to Kelowna, which totals 22 hours round-trip. I lost count of the number of window stickers showcasing Calvin’s distaste for some logo (to be truthful I wasn’t counting, so technically I couldn’t have lost count; minor detail).

Throughout the years I’ve seen different variations; however, it was on our drive home that I actually processed what I saw and a thought came to me. I had just been passed by a vehicle displaying Calvin peeing on a Toronto Maple Leafs logo. Given that we were in BC and typically most fans support the local team (Vancouver), this depiction was not a surprise. The first thought that crossed my mind when I saw this rendition of Calvin was, “I wonder if that person has ever been punched.” I know. Random thought right?!?

I wasn’t offended by any means, I’m a Calgary Flames and Edmonton Oilers fan, but I wondered if someone had ever taken offense and reacted poorly. I know the intent is to poke fun at the particular brand/logo, but is that the message that is coming across? I won’t continue to bore you with the other questions that arose in my head, (after all I still had 9.5 hours of driving left so I had some time to think), but I will share my conclusion with you.

Whether you represent a large corporation, a small business, or yourself in the grocery store, you get judged. It’s unfair, but it happens. It’s important for all of us to be cognizant that our words and actions can be interpreted differently then we intend. In business that’s why it is important to dress professionally, to be on time, to be prepared, etc. Why cloud your message/behaviours with someone’s preconceived notion of you?

Take a couple of minutes and think about it. What do other people see? How are you being interpreted? Was that your intent?

Thanks for reading and I’d like to hear your comments.

2 thoughts on “Who Are You Pissing Off?

  1. Great post Chris! Your comments and conclusions are right on! The truth be know, I’ve actually thought about punching someone myself when I see the Calvin sticker. But yet, I would prefer to give them a little Calvin treatment of my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

