Reflections of the Sick

I want to apologize up front for my lack of writing lately. It seems that I blink and two weeks have gone by.

I am full of good excuses, by the way: work has been busy, my wife had a stomach flu (while being 7 months pregnant), and now our family is collectively battling a cold. It started with our daughter, was passed on to me and subsequently to my (still pregnant) wife who unfairly got the worst version of it.

As I lay down on the couch for a nap on Sunday I began to think about why I tend to get sick. Historically, getting sick was my body’s way of telling me to slow down and take it easy. Although recently, as I’ve come to understand, children pick up A LOT of germs and graciously want to share them with others. Such was the case with this bout of sickness. Out of habit, I reflected on my current state of busyness and assessed areas where I could “slow down” to prevent further illness.

Before closing my eyes I developed a short list of actions and adjustments; ready to implement once I have fully recovered.

Why is it that I reflect when I have been knocked down by a cold and seldom while healthy?

The more the gears in my mind turned, the more I began to realize that I need to take the time to reflect and reassess more often. Not only will it prevent me for running myself into the ground, but I will become more effective. My morning jogs are a good time for this, but I’m often planning and thinking about the day ahead; rarely on the past and how to improve. I can appreciate that spending 30 minutes of reflection a week, dedicated to learning from my inefficiencies, my missteps and my shortcomings can have an impact on my future actions.

How often do you take the time to review your actions and create a list of adjustments or redefine your goals?

I would like to hear your thoughts.

Author’s note: at time of posting my sinuses remain clogged and any spelling or grammatical mistakes are a direct result of my discomfort. Any other post however: those are on me.

2 thoughts on “Reflections of the Sick

  1. Hey Chris. Glad you’re back. Hopefully you’ll be feeling 100% again soon. Oh wait .. your children are still young and bringing home germs for years yet. It will be a while!

    Perhaps it’s because I have a few years on you (using the word few loosely!) that I’ve started to spend some time on reflection pretty much every day. I don’t necessarily spend half an hour each day, but I’ve learned to take pauses here and there to ask myself “Why?”, “Is there a better way or a different way?”, “What impact will my action or lack of action cause?” By nature I’m very impulsive and just do, so this is a learned behaviour for me.

Leave a Reply

