Ask For More

My daughter inspires me in many ways. She motivates me to be the best I can, she reminds me to laugh, she brings out my inner goof, and she radiates a zest for life.

She also inspires blog posts. She’s 19 months old and reminds her Dad how to sell.

The other night my wife and I were giving her some cut up strawberries for dessert. My daughter loves fruit: that and fish crackers. I cut up two small strawberries and gave them to her on her plate. She engulfed them. “Moe,” she said, attempting to ask for more (she’s so close, just misses the ‘r’). Because she had asked so nicely, I found another small strawberry and cut it up for her. Before putting in on her plate, I iterated that this was the last one and we were ‘all finished’ after this strawberry. “Okay,” she replied. I placed the strawberry on her plate and with the same enthusiasm as before, she made her strawberry disappear.

“Moe”, she asked looking my way. Holding true to our previous agreement, I told her that we were all done and there was no more. Next she turned to my wife, asking her for “Moe”. My wife reinforced that there were no more strawberries. After two rejections, my daughter started to become dejected; perhaps the message was sinking in. But she turned to me one last time: “Moe?”

You can’t blame her for trying right?!

I thought about this interaction later in the evening, and I couldn’t help but reflect on the times I may have missed out on a sale or an additional sale, simply because I failed to ask.

Often times, the best way to close new or recurring business is to ask.

And ask for more.

8 thoughts on “Ask For More

  1. The simplest, and yet, sometimes the hardest step is to ask. Why do you think that is? Our innate niceness? Don’t be pushy. Perhaps fear of rejection? If we don’t ask, they can’t say no, right? I think back to times when I was on the fence and because I wasn’t asked to commit, it was easy for me to walk away. An ask would have kept me there a bit longer and perhaps closed the deal.

    • Can we say we’re too Canadian?! Haha. Thanks for commenting Laurie and I think you are dead right. The fear of rejection, or perceived challenge, can often be our biggest obstacle.

  2. Kids are the best negotiators because they go by the philosophy: never deny a person their right to say no. They have no downside to asking and the only way they get things is by asking. They are starting with nothing so no loss if they don’t get it, but there’s a huge upside if they do get it. They can ask forever and we only have to say “yes” once, no matter how many times we said “no” prior. Persistence wins. Plus, they’re cute – never discount the power of cuteness in getting what you want. Lots of lessons in there. Thanks for the reminder!

    • I fear for when our second kid comes around (end of the month?) and I’ll eventually have two cute little ones asking for stuff. I can only fend them off for so long until I will give in! Haha. I appreciate your comment Broc and thanks for reading!

  3. Wow, thats such a great metaphor! And funny, too, my son is just like that. And when he recieves the 5th “NO”, he changes strategy and asks for something else – I said we were out of grapes, not raisins, right?

Leave a Reply

