Life is Fragile

I received a call from my wife: she was in tears. Immediately I asked what was wrong. She then informed me that Alan had tragically passed away the night before.

Silence. I had no words.

Alan DeSilva was one of the most genuine, caring and outgoing people I had ever met. He and his wife are the type of people who would go to any length to help another in need. Alan had such a positive attitude, a warm smile, a fantastic sense of humour, and a contagious zest for life.

It saddens me to realize that the world lost a great man. More tragic however, is the fact that his children (ages 3 and 2) will not have a real opportunity to know what a wonderful human being their father was. Only through stories will they gain insight to their father’s humour, giving spirit and love for the world.

Unfortunately, this serves as another painful reminder that life is fragile.

Love like there is no tomorrow, and treasure the gift of today.

Alan recently started blogging, and although I cannot link to his site I encourage you all to read his posts at lifeofinfluence.wordpress.com

My thoughts and prayers go to Alan’s family and friends who are mourning the loss of this tremendous man.

May he Rest in Peace.

(A member of Alan’s family put this tribute video together: a wonderful tribute to this tremendous man.)

2 thoughts on “Life is Fragile

Leave a Reply

