20 Pencils

To those who know me, it is no secret that my favourite sports team is the Calgary Flames; it has been for as long as I can remember. In fact, at one point in my youth, I wanted to change my name to Mike Vernon (goaltender 1985-94 & 2000-02). Now, that’s dedication kids!!

Last week, my beloved Calgary Flames traded the face of their franchise: Jarome Iginla. To me, this is bittersweet. On one hand, the team is seemingly committing to a rebuild; something that is desperately needed. But on the other hand, it will be hard to see #12 play in any other uniform.

One interesting story I read the day after the trade took place was that of 20 pencils, wrapped tightly with a rubber band. These pencils normally resided in Iginla’s locker, but had to be passed on to another member of the Flames with the Captain’s departure.

I don’t know how long they had been in the locker, or their origin. But I had never heard of this analogy before, so I thought I’d share.

A single pencil on its own is easy to break. But a group of 20 pencils bound tightly together, is virtually unbreakable.

I’d like to hear your thoughts.

4 thoughts on “20 Pencils

Leave a Reply

